Pelléas et Mélisande, Claude DEBUSSY

Completed in 1898, Claude Debussy's work in five acts is the composer's only completed opera. The libretto was sourced from Maurice Maeterlinck's symbolist play, a hauntingly compelling drama in which the audience succumbs to a kaleidoscopic perspective of senses, nature, and time.

"We sit in chimney-corners, telling tales.
Who knows where they were born?
Who knows? Who knows?
We listen and we marvel and we cry -
When? Where?
... and hear the echo of a sigh."

  • Prologue, Bartok's "Bluebeard's Castle"

(Universal edition UE 13 641)

Asynchronous Materials

  Opera Conducting 101: Theory
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Articles and Papers
Available in days
days after you enroll

This course is closed for enrollment.